Back to search

Nominations for the 41st Right Livelihood Award

Right Livelihood Foundation


Publication date
Application date

Nominations are now open for the 41st Right Livelihood Award, widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’. The Swedish Foundation behind the Award is inviting people from across the globe to propose candidates who are working in a visionary and exemplary manner to solve global problems. The deadline for nominations is March 4, 2020. The Award is set to be presented in December 2020.

Besides the search for this year’s Laureates, the Right Livelihood Foundation is also carrying out a range of initiatives to highlight the work of previous Laureates. In 2020, this includes a series of anniversary conferences with the participation of more than 30 previous Laureates. The conferences will take place with the following themes:

  • February 20-22 in Bangkok, Thailand: “Education for Right Livelihood to Inspire Change – Connecting Activism and Academia”;
  • March 24-26 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia: “Women, Peace and Security”;
  • June 14-17 in Medellín, Colombia: “Inspiring Change through Culture”.

The Right Livelihood Award is annually presented to four Laureates. Unlike most other international prizes, it has no categories. The Award recognises that, in striving to meet the human challenges of today’s world, the most inspiring and remarkable work often defies any standard classification. Human rights, environment, education, culture and democracy-building are some examples of issues addressed by the Award’s 178 previous Laureates hailing from 70 countries. Previous Laureates include Dr Denis Mukwege (DR Congo), Edward Snowden (USA), Svetlana Gannushkina (Russia) and Greta Thunberg (Sweden).

Nominations for the 41st Right Livelihood Award